Iaecm | India Association of East Central Michigan



About Indian Language

India is a combination of muliple languages. There are 22 major languages in India, written in 13 different scripts, with over 720 dialects. The official Indian languages are Hindi (with approximately 420 million speakers) and English, which is also widely spoken. Most of them relate to one of the officially recognized languages and there are about eighteen languages identified for regular use in the country. Some of the languages have a common script and some have scripts of their own.

Linguistic aspects of Indian languages have always attracted scholars from different parts of the world on account of the hoary past of the languages as well as their unique phonetic base. Another interesting aspect of Indian languages is the fact that language was a means not merely for communication in daily life but also for expressing religious, philosophical, scientific and professional concepts in amazingly compact ways.